Outstanding Australian researchers recognised by NHMRC


Exceptional researchers in the fields of infectious disease, autoimmunity, chronic pain and Parkinson’s disease were among the Australian researchers honoured at the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Research Excellence Awards.

Professor Anne Kelso, CEO of NHMRC, said that the award winners are among Australia’s most talented senior and emerging researchers.

‘Each year NHMRC provides over $800 million in funding for health and medical research in Australia,’ Professor Kelso said.

Professor Ian Olver AM and Associate Professor Kiarash Khosrotehrani

Professor Ian Olver AM and Associate Professor Kiarash Khosrotehrani. Photo: Irene Dowdy (ID Photo)

‘The Australian health and medical research sector is very strong by international standards and competition for NHMRC funding is intense. So these awards recognise truly outstanding research and researchers.’

University of Queensland research projects on inflammatory arthritis, infectious diseases and tissue regeneration have won prestigious national awards.

Faculty of Medicine researcher Associate Professor Kiarash Khosrotehrani won an award for being the top-ranked applicant in the Clinical—Level 2 category of the NHMRC’s Career Development Fellowship.

Dr Khosrotehrani leads the experimental dermatology group at UQ Diamantina Institute, and his research focuses on tissue regeneration and skin cancer.

“We are looking at stem cell mobilisation in response to injury with a view to improving treatments of skin wounds and preventing skin cancer,” Dr Khosrotehrani said.

Dr Khosrotehrani also a part of the Australian Skin and Skin Cancer Research Centre (ASSC) Executive, and a fellow of the Australasian College of Dermatologists, practicing at the Princess Alexandra Hospital.

Dr Khosrotehrani was amongst five UQ researchers to have been acknowledged at the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) awards in Canberra.

Visit UQ News to see other UQ recipients, or NHMRC for the full list of awards.

Photos: Irene Dowdy, ID Photo (http://idphoto.com.au/)

Media: Kim Lyell, k.lyell@uq.edu.au, 0427 530647; Melissa Kerr, melissa.kerr@uq.edu.au